If you're on a Galaxy Fold, consider unfolding your phone or viewing it in full screen to best optimize your experience.
Louisiana has some of the highest auto insurance rates in the country, with average annual premiums above $4,300. But drivers who seek out the cheapest car insurance in Louisiana can often do much better than this. Here's a look at which companies offer the best auto insurance rates for several common driver profiles.
The average female driver with a clean record pays about $3,452 per year for Louisiana auto insurance, and the average male driver pays $3,543 per year. But those who choose Louisiana Farm Bureau Insurance pay a much lower rate. Females pay about $2,349 annually while men pay just $2,315 per year.
These companies also top the list of the best car insurance companies in Louisiana:
A single accident drives up the average Louisiana auto insurance premium to $5,099 per year. Once again, Louisiana Farm Bureau Insurance offers the most affordable rate, with an average annual premium of $2,710.
These insurers also offer the best car insurance in Louisiana to drivers with an accident history:
Louisiana Farm Bureau is also a great choice for those with speeding tickets. Its average annual premium for drivers with one speeding ticket is just $2,423. That's well below the state average of $4,460 for these drivers.
These companies also offer low-cost car insurance in Louisiana to drivers with speeding tickets:
Teen drivers pay a whopping $10,271 per year on average for Louisiana auto insurance. But fortunately, several companies offer much lower rates, including Louisiana Farm Bureau Insurance. Its average rate for these drivers is just $5,420 per year.
Teens can also find cheap auto insurance in Louisiana through these companies:
The typical 65-year-old driver with a clean record pays $3,379 per year for Louisiana auto insurance. This time, it's Safeway that offers the best rate. It only charges seniors about $2,186 per year.
Seniors can also get cheap car insurance quotes in Louisiana through these companies:
Louisiana minimum car insurance costs drivers about $1,167 annually. However, Geico provides the same coverage for about half the cost -- $665 per year.
These companies also offer cheap liability car insurance in Louisiana:
Drivers with poor credit pay about $5,867 per year for Louisiana auto insurance. But those who choose Safeway can find coverage for a more reasonable $3,102 per year.
Those with bad credit can also find affordable car insurance in Louisiana with these insurers:
How much is car insurance in Louisiana? That depends on several factors, including the driver's age, history of accidents, vehicle make and model, and more. But unfortunately, Louisiana rates tend to be well above average. Here's a look at how its rates for some of the profiles listed above stack up to the rest of the country.
|Average Rate Category
|1 accident on driving record
|1 speeding ticket on driving record
All drivers should familiarize themselves with these Louisiana car insurance laws.
Louisiana is an at-fault state. This means that, in a multicar accident, the driver who is found to be at fault must pay for the damages for all parties involved. That's different from no-fault states where each driver bills their own insurer for medical expenses in most cases.
According to the Louisiana Department of Insurance, drivers who skip Louisiana auto insurance could face the following consequences:
All drivers must carry at least the following Louisiana auto insurance.
Drivers must have at least:
In addition, drivers must have at least $25,000 of property damage liability coverage.
Drivers looking for affordable Louisiana auto insurance can try the following tips:
Here are a few things drivers should know when looking for Louisiana auto insurance.
Louisiana requires its drivers to have $15,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person and $30,000 per accident. Many other states require their drivers to carry at least $25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person and $50,000 per accident.
Purchasing more coverage costs more, but it protects the policyholder better in an accident. If a driver causes an accident and the cost of the damages exceed their policy limits, they'll have to pay for the extra on their own. Buying more than the minimum coverage can reduce the risk of this happening.
State minimum coverage doesn't include any protection for the policyholder's own vehicle. Drivers interested in this should consider adding collision and comprehensive coverage. Collision coverage pays for repairs to the policyholder's vehicle following a single-car or multicar accident, even if the policyholder was at fault. Comprehensive coverage pays for damages due to animal-vehicle collisions, theft, vandalism, bad weather, and more.
RELATED: Need homeowners insurance? Check out The Ascent's guide to the best cheap Louisiana homeowners insurance.
Our Insurance Expert
We're firm believers in the Golden Rule, which is why editorial opinions are ours alone and have not been previously reviewed, approved, or endorsed by included advertisers. The Ascent does not cover all offers on the market. Editorial content from The Ascent is separate from The Motley Fool editorial content and is created by a different analyst team.
The data found on this page is a combination of publicly available quote data obtained directly from the carrier as well as insurance rate data from Quadrant Information Services. These rates were publicly sourced from the top ten (10) to fifteen (15) carrier markets, within each state, based on annual written premium and should be used for comparative purposes only -- your own quotes may be different.
The Ascent is a Motley Fool service that rates and reviews essential products for your everyday money matters.
Copyright © 2018 - 2024 The Ascent. All rights reserved.