If you're on a Galaxy Fold, consider unfolding your phone or viewing it in full screen to best optimize your experience.
Car insurance is a legal requirement in most states, including Oregon. But with so many insurance providers out there, finding the best car insurance in Oregon isn't always easy. Here's a closer look at which companies offer the cheapest rates for some of the most common driver profiles.
A typical 35-year-old female driver with a clean record pays about $1,785 annually for Oregon auto insurance, while a 35-year-old male with a clean record pays just $1,742 per year. State Farm beats both these averages by a considerable margin, charging both men and women an average annual premium of $1,298.
The following insurers are also among the best car insurance companies in Oregon for typical drivers:
A single accident drives up the average cost of Oregon auto insurance to $2,616 per year. But customers with an accident who choose State Farm can get the same coverage for just $1,678 per year.
These companies also offer cheap car insurance quotes in Oregon to drivers with accident histories:
Drivers with one speeding ticket pay about $2,174 for Oregon auto insurance. But once again, State Farm offers these drivers a much more affordable rate. In this case, its average annual premium is just $1,424.
These insurers also offer cheap auto insurance in Oregon to drivers with speeding tickets:
Young drivers face some of the highest Oregon auto insurance premiums, with an average rate of about $4,682 per year. But COUNTRY Financial offers teen drivers coverage for a more reasonable $1,852 per year. (This is based on the profile of an 18-year-old male driver with a clean record.)
Teens can also get affordable car insurance in Oregon from these companies:
Senior drivers only pay about $1,599 per year for Oregon auto insurance. But those who go with Geico score an even better rate -- about $947 per year on average.
These insurers also offer low-cost car insurance in Oregon to drivers 65 and older:
Cheap liability car insurance in Oregon runs drivers about $827 per year. That's not too bad, but drivers who choose Geico can get that same coverage for a much more wallet-friendly $489 per year.
Minimum Oregon auto insurance is also pretty reasonable with the following companies:
COUNTRY Financial also stands out for drivers with poor credit. Its average annual premium of $1,812 for these drivers is much lower than the state average of $2,762.
Here are a few other insurers that offer decent Oregon auto insurance rates to drivers with bad credit:
There isn't a simple answer to the question, "How much is car insurance in Oregon?" It depends on the driver, where they live, the type of vehicle, their accident history, and more. Here's a table showing how the state average rates for a few common driver profiles compare to the national average.
|Average Rate Category||Oregon||National Average|
|1 accident on driving record||$2,616||$3,092|
|1 speeding ticket on driving record||$2,174||$2,766|
Here are Oregon car insurance laws that all drivers should be familiar with:
Oregon is an at-fault auto insurance state. This means the driver found responsible for a multi-car accident pays the medical bills for all parties involved. This is different from no-fault states, where each driver bills their own insurance for medical costs regardless of fault.
Oregon drivers who skip the minimum Oregon auto insurance could face the following consequences:
Drivers must have at least this Oregon minimum car insurance:
Drivers must have at least:
In addition, Oregon drivers need at least $20,000 of property damage liability coverage.
Oregon drivers need at least $15,000 of personal injury protection (PIP) to help them pay medical bills following an accident.
Drivers need at least the following uninsured motorist coverage to protect them if they're hit by an uninsured driver:
Drivers looking to score the cheapest car insurance in Oregon should try the following tips:
Here are some other things to keep in mind when shopping for Oregon auto insurance:
Oregon state minimum car insurance coverage is actually a little more comprehensive than what many states require. But it still might not be enough to fully protect the policyholder in the event of a serious accident. When possible, it's best to purchase more than the minimum coverage.
State minimum coverage also doesn't include protection for the policyholder's vehicle. Drivers interested in this must add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies. Collision coverage pays for damages if the driver is in a single-car wreck or in an accident with another driver. Comprehensive coverage pays for damages due to weather, theft, vandalism, or animal-vehicle collisions.
Our Insurance Expert
We're firm believers in the Golden Rule, which is why editorial opinions are ours alone and have not been previously reviewed, approved, or endorsed by included advertisers. The Ascent does not cover all offers on the market. Editorial content from The Ascent is separate from The Motley Fool editorial content and is created by a different analyst team.
The data found on this page is a combination of publicly available quote data obtained directly from the carrier as well as insurance rate data from Quadrant Information Services. These rates were publicly sourced from the top ten (10) to fifteen (15) carrier markets, within each state, based on annual written premium and should be used for comparative purposes only -- your own quotes may be different.
The Ascent is a Motley Fool service that rates and reviews essential products for your everyday money matters.
Copyright © 2018 - 2023 The Ascent. All rights reserved.