If you're on a Galaxy Fold, consider unfolding your phone or viewing it in full screen to best optimize your experience.
Vermont car insurance is pretty reasonable on average, but every driver pays a different rate depending on their location within the state, vehicle make and model, and driving history. Those in the market for the cheapest car insurance in Vermont need to do their research to find the best deal. Here's a look at which companies offer the lowest prices for several common driver profiles.
The typical 35-year-old female driver with a clean record pays $1,600 annually for Vermont auto insurance, while her male counterpart pays a little more at $1,652 annually. Both can save considerably by going with Geico. It only charges female drivers about $890 per year and male drivers $939 per year.
The following companies also make the list of the best car insurance companies in Vermont:
Geico also offers the most affordable car insurance in Vermont for drivers with a single accident on their records. They'll pay just $1,467 each year with the company, while the state average for these drivers rests at $2,190 per year.
These companies also offer cheap auto insurance in Vermont to drivers with prior accidents:
A single speeding ticket raises the average Vermont auto insurance premium to $1,942 per year. But drivers who go with Geico only pay about $1,082 annually.
Those with speeding tickets can also score cheap car insurance quotes in Vermont with these companies:
State Farm offers the cheapest car insurance in Vermont for drivers with a DUI on their record. Its average annual premium for this group is just $1,525 -- well under the state average of $4,143.
These companies also offer low-cost car insurance to drivers with DUIs:
Younger drivers pay the highest average Vermont auto insurance premiums, at $4,803 per year. But drivers who go with Concord Group Insurance pay less than half of that. Its average annual premium for an 18-year-old driver with a clean record is $2,167.
These companies also offer cheap Vermont car insurance to teen drivers:
The typical 65-year-old driver pays about $1,483 per year for Vermont auto insurance. That's not bad, but it's possible to score a much lower rate by going with Geico. It only charges seniors about $843 per year.
Adults 65 and older can also find affordable car insurance in Vermont with these companies:
Patriot Insurance offers the best cheap liability car insurance in Vermont with an average annual premium of $259. This is just over half the state average of $447 per year.
These insurers also offer cheap Vermont minimum car insurance:
How much is car insurance in Vermont? That depends on a lot of factors, including the driver's history of accidents, their marital status, their education level, their ZIP code, their vehicle's make and model, and more.
Generally, though, rates for Vermont car insurance fall below the national average. Here's a closer look at how its rates stack up to the country's average for some of the driver profiles mentioned above.
|Average Rate Category||Vermont||National Average|
|1 accident on driving record||$2,190||$3,226|
|1 speeding ticket on driving record||$1,942||$2,840|
Here are some Vermont car insurance laws all drivers should be familiar with.
Vermont is an at-fault auto insurance state. This means that in the event of an accident, the driver found to be at fault must pay for the medical bills for all parties involved. This is different from no-fault states where each driver bills their own insurance for medical costs in most cases.
Drivers who skip the mandatory state minimum coverage could face the following consequences:
All Vermont drivers must have at least the following auto insurance coverage:
Drivers must have at least:
In addition, drivers must carry at least $10,000 of property damage liability coverage.
Drivers seeking the cheapest car insurance in Vermont should try the following:
Here are a few other things Vermont drivers should keep in mind when shopping for car insurance.
State minimum coverage helps drivers avoid penalties for driving without insurance. But it may not be enough to cover all the damages from a serious accident. Once the insurer pays up to the policy limit, it's off the hook and the driver must pay the remainder of the balance out of their own pocket. Those who don't want to take this chance should purchase higher coverage limits if they're able to do so.
State law mandates that all drivers have liability coverage, which pays for other people's medical bills and damaged property if the policyholder causes an accident. But it doesn't provide any coverage for the driver's own vehicle. For that, drivers need collision and comprehensive coverage.
Collision coverage pays to repair the vehicle following an at-fault accident or a single-car accident. Comprehensive coverage pays for repairs following animal-vehicle collisions, storm damage, theft, and vandalism.
Our Insurance Expert
We're firm believers in the Golden Rule, which is why editorial opinions are ours alone and have not been previously reviewed, approved, or endorsed by included advertisers. The Ascent does not cover all offers on the market. Editorial content from The Ascent is separate from The Motley Fool editorial content and is created by a different analyst team.
The data found on this page is a combination of publicly available quote data obtained directly from the carrier as well as insurance rate data from Quadrant Information Services. These rates were publicly sourced from the top ten (10) to fifteen (15) carrier markets, within each state, based on annual written premium and should be used for comparative purposes only -- your own quotes may be different.
The Ascent is a Motley Fool service that rates and reviews essential products for your everyday money matters.
Copyright © 2018 - 2023 The Ascent. All rights reserved.