Today IMAX (IMAX -2.36%) and Disney (DIS -0.70%) announced they would continue to partner in the coming years to release multiple Disney films into IMAX theaters.

The announcement highlighted three films which will be released into IMAX theaters both this year and next, including films from Marvel Studios and the continuation of the Star Wars series. The full six films and their release dates are noted below:

  • Marvel's Captain America: The Winter Soldier (April 2014)
  • Maleficent (May 2014)
  • Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy (August 2014)
  • Marvel's Avengers: Age of Ultron (May 2015)
  • Tomorrowland (May 2015)
  • Star Wars: Episode VII (December 2015)

"Disney's and Marvel's larger-than-life characters and dynamic universes clearly resonate with our core audiences," noted the senior executive vice president of IMAX Corp. and CEO of IMAX Entertainment, Greg Foster, in the announcement of the partnership continuation. Foster continued by adding, "we are delighted to build upon this longtime association and continue to collaborate to bring many of the most iconic and cutting-edge properties in the world to life in the most immersive way possible."

In 2013, four movies from Walt Disney Pictures were released into IMAX theaters: Oz: The Great and Powerful, Iron Man 3, Lone Ranger, and Thor: The Dark World. Iron Man 3 and Oz: The Great and Powerful were two of the top 10 highest-grossing movies in all theaters in 2013, with almost $650 million in total box office receipts, according to Box Office Mojo. 

"For the last several years, Disney and IMAX have worked together to deliver extraordinary cinematic experiences to audiences around the world," said the CEO of IMAX, Richard L. Gelfond, in a statement. "The combination of the great product being created by Disney and the overwhelming enthusiasm of moviegoers to see films in IMAX theatres makes this agreement really exciting."