Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Instant Analysis: Facebook Launches Expanded "Reactions" Buttons

By Evan Niu, CFA - Feb 24, 2016 at 11:30AM

You’re reading a free article with opinions that may differ from The Motley Fool’s Premium Investing Services. Become a Motley Fool member today to get instant access to our top analyst recommendations, in-depth research, investing resources, and more. Learn More

How do you "Like" that?

What happened?
After months and years of speculation, Facebook (META -0.76%) has now launched an expanded version of its iconic "Like" button. In addition to the standard "Like" action that's always been available, there are now five additional options to choose from: Love, Haha, Wow, Sad, and Angry.

Image source: Facebook.

Users can access the new reactions by holding down the "Like" button on the mobile app, or hovering the mouse over the "Like button" on the desktop.

Does it matter?
For years, there's been discussion, both internally and externally, about whether or not Facebook would ever implement a "Dislike" button to counter the "Like" button. However, the social network didn't want to give in to peer pressure since merely adding a "Dislike" button would be analogous to a voting system where users could upvote or downvote content.

That would risk resembling Reddit too closely. Mark Zuckerberg didn't think adding that type of system to Facebook would have a net positive impact on Facebook's global community. But at the same time, Zuckerberg acknowledged that it would be helpful to allow users to express themselves in more ways, since not everything shared on Facebook is happy or likable. The new reactions allow a wider range of empathy, and represent an iterative product improvement.

Invest Smarter with The Motley Fool

Join Over 1 Million Premium Members Receiving…

  • New Stock Picks Each Month
  • Detailed Analysis of Companies
  • Model Portfolios
  • Live Streaming During Market Hours
  • And Much More
Get Started Now

Stocks Mentioned

Meta Platforms, Inc. Stock Quote
Meta Platforms, Inc.
$160.03 (-0.76%) $-1.22

*Average returns of all recommendations since inception. Cost basis and return based on previous market day close.

Related Articles

Motley Fool Returns

Motley Fool Stock Advisor

Market-beating stocks from our award-winning analyst team.

Stock Advisor Returns
S&P 500 Returns

Calculated by average return of all stock recommendations since inception of the Stock Advisor service in February of 2002. Returns as of 07/03/2022.

Discounted offers are only available to new members. Stock Advisor list price is $199 per year.

Premium Investing Services

Invest better with The Motley Fool. Get stock recommendations, portfolio guidance, and more from The Motley Fool's premium services.